AWARD School celebrates Singapore graduates


AWARD School Singapore students 2012.jpgThe Australasian Writers and Art Directors Association (AWARD) has celebrated the next generation of creatives graduating from the Singapore branch of AWARD School, the ideas program for aspiring art directors and copywriters.


At the graduation ceremony held last week at Singapore, AWARD School head Joji Jacob, executive creative director at DDB, congratulated the twelve graduates, with a special mention of Jacqueline Teo, the 2012 AWARD School top student.

Says Jacob: “It’s a huge honour to be able to help a reputed program like AWARD school train the next generation of Singapore’s creatives. The school has impeccable credentials and a proven track record. We look forward to following student’s progress in the near future.”


Communications Council CEO Margaret Zabel, thanked Jacob for his energy and passion and all those involved in making AWARD School such a valuable introduction to the industry.

Says Zabel: “Congratulations to all the graduates who have completed this prestigious and long running program. You’re all coming to the creative industries at a time when the demand for creative thinking and artistic expression is very high. We need new thinking, progressive ideas and risk takers. Congratulations on your bravery and good luck.”


AWARD acknowledges the tutors for their time and dedication to the program in Singapore:  Subha Naidu (Iris Singapore), Xander Lee (Ogilvy & Mather) Vinod Savio (Tribal DDB), Pradeep Dsouza (DDB), Ken Choo (Tribal DDB), Parixit Bhattacharya (JWT) and Clarence Chiew. It also extends a warm thank you to guest speakers Steve Back, Chief Creative Officer (Ogilvy & Mather), Charlie Blower & Justin Lim (BlakLab), Thomas Yang, Creative Director (DDB Singapore), Dominic Stallard, Chief Creative Officer (Lowe & Partners), Tay Guan Hin, Regional Executive Creative Director, South East Asia (JWT), Khalid Osman ACD & Lester Lee, Senior Copywriter (DDB) and Melvyn Lim, Executive Creative Director (OgilvyOne Worldwide Singapore).


Tutors and guest speakers are an imperative part of the AWARD School program and their expertise is a key element of preparing students for a future in the industry.


The 2012 graudating students are: Joel Sow, Elon Law, Doralin Kelly, Fadhli Faizal,

Kouri Woongki Song, Augustus Sung, Julie Ann Ensomo, Dedy Setiawan, Kason Tan

Yoky Christianto Pandowo, Jacqueline Teo and Howard Mijares II.

Sponsored by Google, AWARD School is a 16-week, part time course which runs from March to July each year in Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Brisbane, Hobart, Auckland and Singapore.

AWARD School is ranked 6th in the top advertising schools worldwide, as recognised by the International YoungGuns Top 10 of Schools producing the most awarded creative students in the past 10 years. AWARD School has a 29 year history of nurturing creative talent, with graduates including creative leaders such as David Droga, Executive Creative Director, Droga5 New York, Steve Back, Chief Creative Officer Ogilvy & Mather Singapore and Rebecca Carrasco, Creative Director Clemenger BDDO Sydney.

AWARD School follows a strict selection process to pick prospective students, based on demonstrated creative potential.