GREYnJ United Thailand and TBWA Santiago Mangada Puno Philippines score gold pencils at AWARD

| | No Comments
GREYnJ United Thailand and TBWA Santiago Mangada Puno Philippines score gold pencils at AWARD

The winners of the 40th annual AWARD Awards were announced tonight in a celebration of themost outstanding creative communications work in the Asia Pacific region. The theme for the night was “Turn Hate into Gold” and it didn’t disappoint with a record number of golds being presented. Held at Australian Technology Park in Sydney the ceremony delivered a record 58 gold pencils across 22 different campaigns and awarded a further 80 silvers and 129 bronze awards.


Best performing agencies from Asia were GreynJ United Thailand with one Gold and 3 Silver Pencils for Kasikornbank’s “Friendshit” and TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno Phillippines “Disgusting Stories” for Bahay Tuluyan Philippines (Shelter House) with 2 Gold and 1 Silver Pencil. The agency also picked up a Bronze Pencil for “This is a Tree” for Pacific Paint (Boysen).

GreynJ United Thailand’s “Friendshit” also won the Chair’s Choice from AWARD chairman of judges Leo Premutico , Co-founder and Chief Creative Officer of Johannes Leonardo New York.

Premutico said, “It takes more courage to make something simple than it does to make something complicated. More skill to rely on our own craft than lean on the latest technological innovations. Friendshit/Friendship is a marvellous reminder that as an industry we should never lose sight of the most important creative achievement – big and powerful human insights executed flawlessly. That will always be relevant.”

GREYnJ United Thailand and TBWA Santiago Mangada Puno Philippines score gold pencils at AWARD GREYnJ United Thailand and TBWA Santiago Mangada Puno Philippines score gold pencils at AWARD

TBWA/Thailand won 2 Silver and 1 Bronze Pencil for “The All Nighters” press campaign for McDonald’s. McCann Worldgroup Philippines picked up one Silver and one Bronze in the radio category for “LIVES – Ed and Moe” for Fully Booked, and Cheil Hong Kong won 2 Bronze Pencils for “Block Out the Chaos: World Leaders” for JBL. ADK Taiwan won a Bronze for “Rhythm of Love Wall” for 7-ELEVEN.

The award for Agency of the Year was presented to Clemenger BBDO Sydney, which also took home 7 gold pencils on the evening, scoring six for their radio campaign Ducking Autocorrect, as well as a gold pencil for their campaign Wasteland with a V.

BWM Dentsu received eight gold awards. CHE Proximity followed with five gold awards, then Clemenger BBDO Melbourne, Clemenger BBDO Wellington, DDB Group New Zealand, FCB New Zealand and Revolver/Will O’Rourke all received four gold awards. Three golds were awarded to Naked Communications and VMLY&R, then BMF, Ogilvy New Zealand and TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno were all awarded two gold. ARC EDIT, Colenso BBDO, GREYnJ UNITED, Isobar, Sweetshop and The Monkeys were all honoured with one gold pencil each.

Network of the Year went to BBDO. Client of the Year was awarded  to Production Company of the Year was presented to FINCH.

Best in Show was awarded to CHE Proximity’s AutoAds for and Best in Show – Charity went to BWM Dentsu’s Project Revoice for the ALS Association.

Recognising the most prolific of entrants, Creative Team of the Year was awarded to Lennie Galloway and Thomas Gledhill, FCB New Zealand – an award that considers those being credited across multiple campaigns that won Bronze, Silver or Gold (including craft awards if that award is directly applicable to their craft).

Mike Spirkovski, Chair of AWARD, said, “Congratulations to our long and deserving list of finalists and winners, especially to Clemenger BBDO Sydney who were awarded the coveted Agency of the Year title, and to CHE Proximity’s AutoAds and BWM Dentsu’s Project Revoice who have been awarded for Best in Show. Congratulations also to Friendshit by GREYnJ UNITED for being selected for the Chairs Choice award. This year a record number of 58 gold pencils have been awarded – a figure which bears testament to the outstanding level of talent in the Asia Pacific.”

The 40th AWARD Awards Jury Chairs were: Scott Dettrick (The Monkeys) for Design, Noah Regan (DDB) for Print, Poster & Outdoor, Stephen De Wolf (Clemenger BBDO) for Integrated Campaign, Innovation, Market Disruption & Product/Service Development & Creativity For Good, Micah Walker for Craft in Advertising – Print, Typography & Illustration, Ant White (CHE Proximity) for Direct Marketing, Claire Salvetti (One Green Bean) for Promotion & Experiential and PR, Martha Coleman (Revlover) for Branded Entertainment & Content, Hamish Stewart for Digital, Jen Speirs (BMF) for Radio, Pip Smart (Revolver) for Craft in Advertising – Film and Damon Stapleton (DDB) for Film & Video.

This year again AWARD highlighted the top five agencies, production companies, and Network of the Year:

Agency of the Year – Top 5
1) Clemenger BBDO Sydney
2) CHE Proximity
3) DDB Group New Zealand
4) The Monkeys
5) Clemenger BBDO Melbourne

Production Company of the Year – Top 5
2) Revolver/Will O’Rourke
3) Goodoil
4) Sweetshop
5) Scoundrel

Network of the Year – Top 5
2) DDB
3) Dentsu Aegis Network
5) Ogilvy

Client of the Year

Creative Team of the Year
Lennie Galloway and Thomas Gledhill
Agency: FCB New Zealand

Chair’s Choice
Title: Friendshit

Best in Show:
Title: AutoAds
Entrants: CHE Proximity

View all the winners: 40th-AWARD-Awards-Winners